A Brief Guide for Politicians Who Actually Want to Speak with/Reach Black Folk

LaToya R Jefferson-James
8 min readApr 11, 2024

Reader, I want to take a break from my thoughts on Black folk at work and talk to politicians. It’s election season, and I am not sure if any politicians actually know how to speak to Black folk. For the record, I do not own the copyright to any video that I may post here. I am not using the video clips for the sole purpose of making money. I use them as examples so that the audience may better “see” the point I am making.

It’s election season. It’s election season up-ballot and down. And with election season, there is bound to be a good amount of fodder for night-time talk show hosts and comedians. However, and this is a HOWEVER, I want to get real with and about politicians and Black folk. The bottom line is this: many politicians do not know how to speak with and hear Black people. As a very large and faithful voting bloc, I feel it’s high time that politicians listen (or in this case, read) and learn how to speak with us and hear us.

Here is a quick guide for those politicians who truly, truly want to reach Black people and do not take that part of the constituency for granted.

  1. ) Black entertainers and athletes are not policy experts and should not be treated as such by people seeking office. While I appreciate anybody with some political passion and the gall to speak her/his mind, sometimes at the expense of their jobs (Kapernick, anyone?), I do not understand why politicians, Democrat and Republican, look to Black…

--

--

LaToya R Jefferson-James

LaToya Jefferson-James has a Ph.D. in literature. Welcome! The professor is in! Come in and stay a spell. Let’s discuss and learn from one another.